PRSSA Mentor Program Experience

Since the kick-off of the mentor program in December, I have established a great relationship with my mentor, Jessica Pugh of the Utah Food Bank.  Jessica and I have met several times since our initial meeting.

The main reason I decided to participate in the mentor program was because I wanted to meet someone who could really help me prepare myself to get into this competitive field of public relations.  In the past two months, I feel like I have received a lot of great, practical advice from Jessica.  

Jessica has given me some really great advice on how to enhance my resume and what to include in my portfolio.  She even brought her portfolio she created after graduating college to the PRSSA meeting on non-profits to give the students an idea of what a portfolio should look like.  In our last meeting, she went over my resume and offered me suggestions to make it really stand out.

If you are thinking about participating in the PRSSA mentor program, I would highly recommend it.  In an industry like public relations, it never hurts to have connections.  My dream job would be to work in the fashion industry doing public relations.  It just so happens that my mentor has a connection to that industry!  The mentor program really gave me the push I needed to start communicating with professionals and helped me break the ice.

-Samantha

About Utah PRSSA

The national chapter of the Public Relations Society of America (PRSA) is a professional organization that serves its members with networking opportunities, employment resources, and information about emerging trends in communication and new media fields as well as strategies for professional advancement. Membership of PRSA at the student level (PRSSA) enables students to access content that is available exclusively to members.

Posted on February 15, 2011, in Benefits. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

