The PRSSA Experience

I’m sure you guys hear a lot about PRSSA in your classes and from your professors.  Or maybe you don’t hear about it at all and you’ve randomly stumbled upon this website.  Either way I’m here to talk even more about PRSSA. More you say? How much more can these people talk about PRSSA?!

I know that most of the time people from PRSSA come to your classes and talk about upcoming events, or why you should join, and while you can find that through our various tabs and pages…that’s not why I’m here.

Here, I provide some insight as to how PRSSA has personally helped me.

Being involved in PRSSA has helped me become more involved across campus and has introduced me to so many new people.  I’ve been able to meet and connect with  lots of people in the industry and explore different fields of public relations like nonprofits, crisis communications, entertainment, etc.  I’ve been able to meet people from top firms in Salt Lake like Intrepid, The Summit Group, and Richter7.  And in an industry where “it’s all about who you know,” knowing lots of people sure can’t hurt.

Knowing people in the industry has been so helpful as a student.  Local professionals are always willing to help students, so willing to talk.  So maybe rethink that “graduate as soon as possible” thing haha.  But seriously, if I have questions about press releases, or resumes, or building my portfolio professionals have been so willing to help me, which is great because then I can turn around and help other students.

While the networking has been great PRSSA has also helped me figure out what I want to do and where I want to go with my career.  Hearing from various professionals in different fields gives me some insight into what it would be like to work in crisis communications or in a nonprofit agency.  Hearing people talk about their jobs helps me figure out what I do/don’t want.  Which, it isn’t the easiest of questions.

Let’s face it.  We all need help with things from time to time be it how to dress for an interview, what to put on your portfolio, or asking businesses for an interview.  PRSSA has helped me in soo many ways these past two semesters I only wish I had known about it when I was a Freshman!

– Fiona (secretary)

About Utah PRSSA

The national chapter of the Public Relations Society of America (PRSA) is a professional organization that serves its members with networking opportunities, employment resources, and information about emerging trends in communication and new media fields as well as strategies for professional advancement. Membership of PRSA at the student level (PRSSA) enables students to access content that is available exclusively to members.

Posted on February 22, 2011, in Benefits. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

